Founded 1946, by Geoffrey Beard

Stourbridge Historical Society

Programme 2019

Thursday 17th January

Peter Bates

'A History of English Graveyards' (Illustrated)
 

Thursday 21st February

 Charles Brecknell

'How to survive the Great War:

The War Service of Stuart Menzies, Despatch Rider and Pilot' (Illustrated)

 

Thursday 21st March

Colin Knipe

‘The History of Teddy Grays Sweet Shop'  (Illustrated)

 

Wednesday 3rd April

 

A visit to St. Mary's College, Oscott, Sutton Coldfield

(Details will be circulated to members at the March meeting)



Thursday 9th May
(Ticketed Event)


James Measell

‘The Stourbridge School of Art and the Local Glass Industry 1850-1905’  (Illustrated)

Tickets for members free; for visitors  £3    Available from David Hickman 01384 274014 
 

Thursday 16th May

Max Keen

‘Hereward the Wake' (Illustrated) 

 

 Thursday 4th July: 


A Visit to Walcot Hall, Lydbury North, Shropshire
(Details will be circulated to members at the May meeting)
 

 Saturday 10th August

 

A Walk around Alcester with Tim Bridges
(Details will be circulated to members at the May meeting)
 

Thursday 19th September

Stuart McMaster

‘Two Black Country engineering Companies' (Illustrated)

 

Thursday 17th October

John Pettit

‘The Rothschild Dynasty' (Illustrated)

 

Thursday 21st November

Julian Hunt

‘The Mills of Belbroughton' (Illustrated)

 

Thursday 12th December

Annual General Meeting

plus


Pam Manning


'Sex and the Tudors' (Illustrated)




 

All meetings are held in the Wollaston Room, Stourbridge Town Hall at 7.30pm

Annual Subscription:  £10.00:    Visitors Welcome:  £3.00

 

Further details from David Hickman    01384 274014